The Criminal Investigations Division is tasked with the mission of providing investigative support to the population of Montgomery County. Overall command of the Division is held by Captain Bruce Zenor. The Division is currently divided into six sections, each filling a distinctive role, but also interacting with each of the other  sections to accomplish the overall mission.



The Detectives Section is comprised of two squads each commanded by a Lieutenant, who is assisted by a Detective Sergeant. The North Squad is commanded by Lieutenant Dan Zientek. The squad has an operational area consisting of the North and East portions of the county. The South Squad, commanded by Lieutenant Melvin Franklin, have an operational area consisting of the South and West portions of the county. Each squad occupies two office locations allowing better service to the people of Montgomery County.


The Auto Theft Task Force (ATTF) is commanded by Lieutenant Joseph Sclider, who is assisted by Sergeant Kelley Smith. The Task Force is comprised of peace officers from 5 agencies. The mission of the Auto Theft Task Force is to investigate and recover stolen items including both motorized and non-motorized vehicles and trailers which were stolen in the Task Force's operational area or are found in the area after being stolen. The Task Force's current area of responsibility includes the counties of Grimes, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, and Walker. Visit the ATTF page.


The Montgomery County Sheriff's Office Special Investigations Unit is comprised of undercover detectives, uniform deputies with a K-9, and a crime analyst. The SUI's primary mission is investigation, dismantling and apprehension of illicit narcotics trafficking organizations, street gangs and vice operations.

The members of the unit receive specialized job specific training which includes but is not limited to: Clandestine Lab Investigator Certification, Computer and Cell Phone Forensics Certification, Narcotic Canine Handler Certification, Drug Recognition Expert Certification, and undercover operations.

The Unit has members assigned to the Federal Bureau of Investigations Joint Terrorism Task Force and the Houston DEA HIDTA 31 Major Drug Squad. The FBI JTTF's primary mission is the investigation and apprehension of domestic and international terrorism groups. The DEA HIDTA mission is the investigation, apprehension, and dismantling of drug trafficking organizations located within the Houston HIDTA area which includes Montgomery County.


The Crime Laboratory Section, referred to as the Crime Lab/ID Section, is responsible for forensic support of all Divisions and Sections of the Sheriff's Department. The Commander, Lieutenant Damon Hall, along with Sergeant Rick Anderson supervise Crime Scene Investigators (CSI), full time civilians and part time civilians. In addition to supporting the Sheriff's Department, the ID Section supports other Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice agencies from Montgomery County. Visit the lab page.



North County
South County
#1 Criminal Justice Dr.
1520 Lake Front Circle
Conroe, TX 77301
The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone: (936) 760-5876
Phone: (281) 297-6510
Fax: (936) 538-7701
Fax: (281) 297-6599
East Montgomery County Annex
West Montgomery County Annex
23310 Hwy 59 Suite B
19100 Unity Park Dr.
New Caney, TX 77357
Magnolia, TX 77355
Phone: (281) 577-8943
Phone: (936) 539-7864
Fax: (281) 577-8955
Fax: (936) 538-8041

You may contact the commander of the CID, Captain Bruce Zenor by email.



Site Designed & Powered by
Woodlands Online
Email Webmaster